• Post by:
  • January 12, 2024
  • Comments off


The Ed Romance Chapter is conferring special achievement honors to The Anthracite Steam Fire Company No 1 of Mount Carmel. The Anthracite was one of the original sponsors when the Mount Carmel Area Junior Baseball League played its first baseball game in 1948. Since that time, Anthracite is the only organization to sponsor a team every year since the inaugural season.

Other original sponsors were Clover Hose Company, Elks Club, Holy Cross Church, Maurer’s Dairy, Moose, Social Civic Club and Star Lane.

The Firemen had the honor of playing in the league’s first game on June 14, 1948 at the Silver Bowl and posted its first league victory in a win over the Social Civic Club by a 6 to 5 score. Anthracite was crowned as the first ever League Champions following its 5 to 4 victory over the Moose in a post season playoff game before an estimated 2500 fans.

Since that first season, the junior firemen have won titles in 1950, 1953, 1954, 1956, 1960, 1972, 1982 and 1991. They were silver medalists in 1957, 1967, 1968, 1973, 1996, 2005 and 2006.

On March 17, 1950 the Northumberland County Board of Commissioners leased a parcel of land to the Company to be used for recreational purposes. A baseball field and picnic sheds were erected in the northern end of the borough between Market and Oak streets. The first ever game on that field was won by the Anthracite on June 9, 1950 with a win over Beck and Beck. The land was donated to the Borough to be used for recreational purposes in January of 1971. Still known as the Anthracite Field, it is the only ballpark in the borough and is still used today for league games and tournaments.

Each year, the Anthracite sponsors offensive and defensive MVP’s of both teams playing in the Junior League Championship Series. The award is named in honor of the Company’s long-time manager Harold “Ducky” Dettrey.

Members of the Romance Chapter who have played for the Anthracite include Judge Robert Sacavage, Charles Sacavage, James Bush and the late Dr. Thomas Revak. Coach Dettrey, Paul Semicek and Michael Marlow were honored with special achievement awards.

2014 will mark the 67th year of sponsorship by the Anthracite and that type of commitment is rare and special.

Categories: 2014 Hall of Fame